Ethiopia: Land and people

The world’s most populous landlocked country

Ethiopia, formerly known as Abyssinia, is an ancient land on the horn of Africa. It has been a melting pot for the civilisations of North Africa, the middle east and sub-Saharan Africa since ancient times. The state that makes up 21st-century Ethiopia is a landlocked country. With a population of around 110 million, it is the second-most populous country on the African continent. In the north, it borders Eritrea, as well as Djibouti in the north east, Somalia in the the east, Kenya in the south, and Sudan and South Sudan in the west. Ethiopia has an area of 1,104,300 square kilometres (somewhat larger than the areas of Germany and France combined).

Ethiopia – the second-oldest Christian nation in the world after Armenia – looks back onto a proud history. It is the only country in Africa never to have been colonised (with the exception of a brutal occupation by fascist Italy during World War 2). With the return of Haile Selassie I in 1941, the allied forces re-established Ethiopia’s independence. Furthermore, pressure from the allies at the time led to the abolition of slavery, which, until then, was commonplace in Ethiopia.

Ethiopia’s human history reaches far back into the fog of pre-historic times, and Paleontologists believe that ancient Abyssinia is likely to have been the cradle of humanity. Fossils of Australopithecus afarensis, an upright-standing species best known in the shape of the skeleton “Lucy”, is seen as the direct predecessor of Homo Sapiens by many scientists. The fossils of the oldest known prehistoric humans – “Lucy” – believed to be 3.5 million years old – were found in Northern Ethiopia.

Starting in 1923, Ethiopia was a member of the League of Nations, as well as one of the 51 founding members of the United Nations in 1942. Furthermore, it is home to the African UN headquarters, alongside being a founding member of the African Union. In 1974, Haile Selassie’s imperial monarchy was deposed and replaced with a pro-Soviet military junta, which ruled for 17 years until the end of the cold war.

Economy

Ethiopia is a one-party state with a centrally planned economy. For over 10 years, its economy has been growing between 8% and 11% annually, one of the fastest growth rates of any of the IMF’s 188 member states.

This growth was achieved through a mix of state investments in infrastructure, as well as sustainable progress in the agricultural and service sectors. Over 70% of the country’s population still work in the agricultural sector, but services have overtaken agriculture as the main contributor to Ethiopia’s GDP. Ethiopia has very low rates of income inequality compared to other African states, and, indeed, has one of the lowest rates in the world.

Despite continuous progress and the widespread elimination of extreme poverty, Ethiopia is nonetheless one of the poorest countries in the world – likely caused by large population growth and a low baseline to begin with. The Ethiopian state is heavily involved in the country’s economy. Current infrastructure projects include electricity production and distribution, roads, railway tracks, airports and industrial parks. Foreign exchange revenue is led by the state-owned Ethiopian Airlines, followed by the export of resources.

While coffee remains the largest source of revenue for commodity exports, other resources are becoming increasingly important. Manufacturing only made up 8% of overall exports in 2016, but it is forecast to increase in the future. Ethiopia has foreign direct investment totalling approximately 8.5 million US dollars, mainly originating from China, Turkey, India and the EU.

In the autumn of 2015, the government passed and published the current five-year-plan (2016-2020) for growth and transformation (aka Growth- and transformation plan II). It emphasises the development of production across sectors in which Ethiopia has a comparative advantage, such as textiles, clothing, leather and processed agricultural goods.

In order to support its industrial development, Ethiopia plans to increase its energy production capacity by 8,320 megawatts by constructing three further dams and investing in renewable energy sources.

Climate

Ethiopia is affected by the tropical monsoon in a range of broad topographical variations. As it is a country at much higher altitude than other countries this close to the equator, Ethiopia is significantly cooler than its neighbours. Most of the country’s larger cities are at an elevation of around 2,000-2,500 metres above sea level, including the historical capitals of Gondar and Axum. Addis Ababa, East Africa’s political hub, is situated at 2,400 metres above sea level. The yearly average temperature in Addis Ababa is 16  ° C, whereas the daily average high is between 20 ° C and 25 ° C, and the average nighttime temperature is between 5 ° C and 10 ° C. In the country’s lower regions however, the climate can be significantly warmer and dryer. The dry season lasts from October until February, followed by a mild monsoon season between March and May and a heavy rainy season between June and September. Average yearly precipitation is 1,200 mm.

Terrain

Ethiopia consists of a high plateau with one central mountain range, separated by the Great Rift Valley, arid lowlands in the east and lush riverlands in the west. The country’s lowest point is the Danakil depression, which, with its -125 metres is one the lowest and hottest spots on planet Earth. The highest point is Mount Ras Dejen, which, with its 4,533 metres, is covered in snow for several months of the year. The Blue Nile, the river Nile’s river Nile’s main tributary, has it’s source in T’ana Hayk (Lake Tana), in the north west of Ethiopia.

Land und Leute Äthiopien

Das bevölkerungsreichste Binnenland der Erde

Äthiopien, historisch Abessinien genannt, ist ein uraltes Kulturland am Horn von Afrika. Das legendäre Abessinien war seit dem Altertum Schnittpunkt und Drehscheibe zwischen den Zivilisationen Nordafrikas, des Nahen Ostens und Subsahara-Afrikas. Das moderne Äthiopien des 21. Jahrhunderts ist ein Binnenstaat. Mit rund 110 Millionen Einwohnern ist es hinter Nigeria das zweit-bevölkerungsreichste Land auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent. Es grenzt an Eritrea im Norden, Dschibuti im Nordosten, Somalia im Osten, Kenia im Süden und an den Sudan sowie den Südsudan im Westen. Seine Gesamtfläche beträgt 1.104.300 km² (etwas größer als Frankreich und Deutschland zusammen).

Äthiopien, zweitälteste christliche Nation der Welt nach Armenien, blickt auf eine stolze Geschichte zurück. Es ist das einzige Land in Afrika, das niemals kolonialisiert wurde (mit Ausnahme einer kurzen brutalen Besetzung durch das faschistische Italien im Zweiten Weltkrieg). Mit der Rückkehr von Haile Selassie I im Jahre 1941 wurde die Unabhängigkeit von Äthiopien durch die Alliierten wiederhergestellt. Unter deren Druck wurde per Gesetz die damals noch gängige Sklaverei in Äthiopien abgeschafft.

Äthiopiens menschliche Geschichte reicht weit zurück in den Nebel der Vorzeit und Paläoanthropologen glauben, dass im historischen Abessinien wohl die Wiege der Menschheit gelegen haben könnte. Die Fossilien von Australopithecus afarensis, einer aufrecht gehenden Spezies, die am ehesten aus dem Skelett Lucy bekannt ist, wird von vielen Wissenschaftlern als der direkte Vorfahre unserer Gattung Homo sapiens angesehen. Die Fossilien des ältesten einst lebenden Vormenschen oder „Lucy“, die angeblich 3,5 Millionen Jahre alt sind, wurden im nördlichen Teil des heutigen Äthiopiens entdeckt.

Äthiopien ist seit 1923 Mitglied des Völkerbundes, unterzeichnete 1942 die Erklärung der Vereinten Nationen, gründete das UN-Hauptquartier in Afrika, ist eines der 51 ursprünglichen Mitglieder der UNO und Sitz und Gründungsmitglied der ehemaligen OAU und der aktuellen AU. 1974 wurde die kaiserlich monarchistische Regierung unter Haile Selassie abgesetzt und durch eine prosowjetische Militärjunta ersetzt, die 17 Jahre lang bis zum Ende des Kalten Krieges über Äthiopien herrschte.

Wirtschaft

Äthiopien ist ein Einparteienstaat mit einer Planwirtschaft. Seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt vor 2016 wuchs Äthiopien jährlich zwischen 8% und 11% – einer der am schnellsten wachsenden Staaten unter den 188 IWF-Mitgliedsländern.

Dieses Wachstum wurde durch staatliche Investitionen in die Infrastruktur, sowie durch nachhaltige Fortschritte in der Landwirtschaft und im Dienstleistungssektor erreicht. Mehr als 70% der Bevölkerung Äthiopiens sind noch im landwirtschaftlichen Sektor beschäftigt, aber Dienstleistungen haben Landwirtschaft als Hauptquelle des BIP überholt. In Äthiopien gibt es nur sehr geringe Einkommensunterschiede im Vergleich zu Restafrika. Sie gehören sogar zu den niedrigsten in der Welt.

Trotz Fortschritten bei der Beseitigung der extremen Armut ist Äthiopien nach wie vor eines der ärmsten Länder der Welt, bedingt durch ein schnelles Bevölkerungswachstum und eine niedrige Ausgangsbasis. Der äthiopische Staat engagiert sich stark in der Wirtschaft. Laufende Infrastrukturprojekte umfassen Stromerzeugung und -verteilung, Straßen, Schienen, Flughäfen und Industrieparks. Die Deviseneinnahmen Äthiopiens werden von den staatlichen Ethiopian Airlines angeführt, gefolgt vom Export verschiedener Rohstoffe.

Während Kaffee der größte Devisenverdiener bleibt, werden andere Rohstoffe immer wichtiger. Die Industrie machte im Jahr 2016 weniger als 8% der gesamten Exporte aus, doch sollten die Industrie Exporte in den kommenden Jahren zunehmen. Äthiopien hat ausländische Direktinvestitionen in Höhe von etwa 8,5 Milliarden Dollar, hauptsächlich aus China, der Türkei, Indien und der EU, angezogen.

Im Herbst 2015 hat die Regierung den aktuellen Fünfjahresplan 2016-2020 verabschiedet und veröffentlicht, der als Wachstums- und Transformationsplan II bekannt ist. Er betont die Entwicklung der Produktion in Sektoren, in denen Äthiopien einen komparativen Vorteil hat, wie Textilien, Bekleidung, Lederwaren und landwirtschaftliche Verarbeitungserzeugnisse. Zur Unterstützung der Industrialisierung plant Äthiopien die installierte Stromerzeugungskapazität um 8.320 Megawatt zu steigern, indem sie drei weitere Staudämme errichtet und erneuerbare Energiequellen fördert.

Klima

Äthiopien wird vom tropischen Monsun beherrscht mit breiten topographischen Variationen. Als Hochland ist Äthiopien im Allgemeinen deutlich kühler ist als andere Regionen in ähnlicher Nähe zum Äquator. Die meisten Großstädte des Landes befinden sich auf etwa 2.000-2.500 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel, darunter historische Hauptstädte wie Gondar und Axum. Addis Abeba, der politische Verkehrsknotenpunkt Ostafrikas, liegt 2.400 Meter hoch. Die durchschnittliche Jahrestemperatur in Addis Abeba beträgt 16 ° C, wobei die Tagesmaximaltemperatur im Durchschnitt bei 20 bis 25 ° C liegt und die Nachttemperatur im Mittel bei 5-10 ° C. In den tiefer liegenden Regionen im Osten des Landes, kann das Klima jedoch wesentlich wärmer und trockener sein. Trockenzeit ist von Oktober bis Februar, gefolgt von einer leichten Regenzeit März bis Mai und einer schweren Regenzeit von Juni bis September. Der durchschnittliche jährliche Niederschlag liegt bei 1200 mm.

Terrain

Äthiopien besteht aus einem Hochplateau mit einem zentralen Gebirgszug, geteilt durch das Great Rift Valley, ariden Niederungen im Osten, und üppigen Flussebenen im Westen. Tiefster Punkt des Landes ist in der Danakil-Senke und mit – 125 Metern einer der niedrigsten und heißesten Punkte der Erde. Höchster Punkt ist der Mount Ras Dejen 4, 533 m, während mehrerer Monate des Jahres mit Schnee bedeckt. Der Blaue Nil, der Hauptstrom des Nils, entspringt in T’ana Hayk (Lake Tana) im Nordwesten Äthiopiens.

Quellenhinweise: …