Project description and goals

ReNoStar GmbH, founded in 1982, is the managing leader in the project “introducing electronic legal communication in Ethiopia with the help of prototypes”.

Interim goals

The project was started in June of 2017. It follows the rules of develoPPP.de projects, which are jointly implemented by the German Federal ministry of economic cooperation and development (BMZ) and the partner sequa.

ReNoStar will be training around 330 Ethiopian students, attorneys and judges, as well as other people in the legal sector on the possibilities of using a modern system for electronic legal communication (ELC), with consultations and training courses. The company’s goal is to help the local judicial system on the path towards implementing ELC and related solution models under its own steam, as well as training individuals on how to use and establish the system long-term.

Background

The Ethiopian government’s Growth and Transformation Plan codifies ambitious goals for the country’s future economic growth, investments in social and economic infrastructure, as well as combating poverty. This strategy also features provisions for the modernisation and digitisation of procedural systems within the national judicial system. However, there is currently a dearth of modern court buildings, technological infrastructure and qualified personnel. Furthermore, one of the plan’s key targets is to standardise the administrative procedures of all involved actors (i.e. courts, citizens and later also lax firms) and make them more transparent.

To achieve these goals in a timely and professional manner, the Federal Republic of Germany supports this project within the framework of the develoPPP.de initiative: in the first stage, legal professionals throughout the country are trained on the technological and legal framework necessary for the seamless electronic exchange of legal documents. In the next stage, they will learn how such technologies can optimally (and successively) be introduced.

Projektinhalt und Zielsetzung

Die ReNoStar GmbH, gegründet im Jahr 1982, übernimmt die Federführung im Projekt „Einführung des elektronischen Rechtsverkehrs in Äthiopien mittels Prototypen“.

Etappenziel

Das Projekt wurde im Juni 2017 gestartet. Es folgt den Regeln eines develoPPP.de Projektes, durchgeführt vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) über den Partner sequa.

ReNoStar wird insgesamt etwa 330 äthiopische Studenten, Rechtsanwälte, Richter und andere Personen aus dem Justizwesen mittels Beratungs- und Schulungsmaßnahmen sowie angepassten Softwarelösungen über die Möglichkeiten des Einsatzes eines modernen elektronischen Rechtsverkehrs (ERV) informieren. Ziel ist es, die Justiz im weitesten Sinne in die Lage zu versetzen, den ERV und die zugehörigen Lösungsmodule eigenständig zu implementieren, zu schulen und langfristig anzuwenden.

Hintergrund

Die äthiopische Entwicklungsstrategie (Growth and Transformation Plan) schreibt ehrgeizige Ziele fest für das Wirtschaftswachstum, für Investitionen in soziale und wirtschaftliche Infrastruktur sowie zur Bekämpfung der Armut. Zur Strategie gehört auch die Modernisierung und Digitalisierung der Verfahrensabläufe des nationalen Rechtssystems. Allerdings mangelt es bisher an modernen Gerichtsgebäuden, technischer Infrastruktur und ausgebildetem Personal. Daneben ist es erwünscht, die Verfahrens- und Verwaltungsabläufe der beteiligten Institutionen (Gerichte, Rechtsanwaltskanzleien) zu standardisieren und transparent darzustellen.

Um dies zügig und professionell zu erreichen, unterstützt die Bundesrepublik mit dem Projekt develoPPP.de die Kräfte im Land: Akteure des nationalen Justizwesens werden im ersten Schritt geschult, um die technischen und juristischen Rahmenbedingungen zum elektronischen Austausch juristischer Dokumente kennenzulernen. Und im nächsten Schritt erfahren sie, wie diese optimal und sukzessive eingeführt werden können.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen sind u.a. Training-of-Trainers, Workshops für Studierende an mehreren Universitäten sowie Workshops für Rechtsanwälte in deren Standesvereinigungen geplant.